Medical devices · IVD · SaMD
A neutral, alphabetical list of companies that publicly offer Designated Marketing Authorization Holder (DMAH, 選任製造販売業者) service to foreign device and IVD makers, with licence types, published fees, evidence links, and how switching DMAH works under Japanese law.
Last checked 2026-09-27 · 28 companies (21 confirmed) · 7 with verified product examples
Disclosure. We may receive a referral fee if you engage a provider introduced by us. Listing order is alphabetical and not paid.
A foreign company cannot hold a Japanese marketing authorization licence itself. To sell a medical device or IVD in Japan it needs a company in Japan that holds the right marketing authorization holder (MAH) licence (製造販売業許可). Under Article 23-2 of the PMD Act there are four licence types:
When the foreign maker keeps the approval or certification in its own name, the Japanese company it appoints is the Designated Marketing Authorization Holder (DMAH). The law calls it 選任外国製造医療機器等製造販売業者 (for foreign special approvals, Art. 23-2-17(3)–(4)) or the 製造販売業者 selected by a foreign designated maker (for third-party certification, Art. 23-2-23 and 23-3). The DMAH must hold a licence that matches the product class, and it carries the in-country duties (quality management, post-market safety, adverse-event reports, recalls, labelling in Japanese). Consultancies sometimes call this service “MAH-for-hire”, “independent MAH” or “In-Country Caretaker (ICC)”.
| Product | Route in Japan | Who files | Foreign maker keeps the licence? |
|---|---|---|---|
| General device (Class I) | Notification to PMDA (製造販売届出, Art. 23-2-12) | A Japanese MAH with at least a Class 3 licence, in its own name | No. There is no foreign-special route for notifications. |
| Controlled / some highly controlled devices with certification standards (most Class II, some Class III), some IVDs | Third-party certification by a Registered Certification Body (認証, Art. 23-2-23) | Either a Japanese MAH in its own name, or the foreign maker as “foreign designated maker” with a selected MAH (Art. 23-3) | Yes, if certified in the foreign maker’s name |
| Class III/IV, new devices, SaMD without a standard, many IVDs | MHLW approval after PMDA review (承認, Art. 23-2-5) | Either a Japanese MAH in its own name, or the foreign maker via foreign special approval (外国特例承認, Art. 23-2-17) with a DMAH | Yes, under foreign special approval |
Every foreign manufacturing site must also be registered (医療機器等外国製造業者登録, Art. 23-2-4; PMDA page). That is a separate step from choosing the DMAH.
This is the main reason many foreign makers choose foreign special approval instead of letting a Japanese partner hold the approval:
The new DMAH still needs the right licence class and must take over quality and safety duties (QMS, GVP, complaint and adverse-event handling), so a switch takes contract and preparation time even though no new approval is needed. This is general information, not regulatory advice; confirm the filing route with PMDA or your consultant.
Most providers quote case by case. Figures that providers or reputable sources state publicly:
Fees vary with device class, number of products, post-market workload (complaints, vigilance, labelling) and whether registration work is included. Government fees for PMDA review and QMS inspection are separate.
Alphabetical. Included only if the company’s own public page says it acts as DMAH / 選任製造販売業者, or offers MAH service to foreign makers (confirmed = explicit DMAH / 選任 wording; probable = MAH or in-country representation for foreign makers, DMAH wording not explicit or via a partner). Licence types are shown only where the company states them. Registered Certification Bodies are not listed: they certify products and cannot act as DMAH. Checked 2026-09-27.
| Company | Based in | Licences stated | Focus | Languages | Public fees | Evidence (company page) | Track record (examples) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acoma Medical Industry Co., Ltd. アコマ医科工業株式会社 confirmed | 東京都文京区本郷2-14-14 Japan: アコマ医科工業株式会社 | not stated on the pages we checked | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese | quote only |
| not yet verified |
| AJMD K.K. (Advance Japan with Medical Devices) AJMD株式会社 confirmed | Tokyo, Japan (founded 2011) Japan: AJMD株式会社, Higashi-Nihonbashi, Chuo-ku, Tokyo | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | English, Japanese | quote only |
| 45 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 57 all-time; 26 foreign makers)
|
| ARQon probable | Singapore Japan: Not stated | not stated on the pages we checked | Devicescombination products DMAH role not fully clear | English | “Classes II, III & IV ... FEES $20,000 - $120,000 ... 6 to 36 months (appears to be regulatory/government fee range, not DMAH service fee)” source |
| not yet verified |
| Asia Actual probable | USA (Asia Actual LLC) / Singapore (Asia Actual Pte. Ltd.) Japan: Tokyo office listed; Japanese legal entity name not published ("Asia Actual Japan G.K." not found on site) | not stated on the pages we checked | DevicesIVD Acts as DMAH itself | English, Japanese | “Application processing time and PMDA/MHLW fees will vary from 6 months and US$20,000 to 36 months and US$120,000 (depending on device classification) — government/processing fees, not DMAH service fee” source |
| not yet verified |
| CMIC シミック株式会社 / シミックグループ confirmed | Tokyo, Japan Japan: シミック株式会社 (device license); group entities for drugs | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 Drug 医薬品製造販売業 | DevicesSaMDIVDDrugs Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese, English | quote only |
| not yet verified |
| Cobridge Co., Ltd. 株式会社コーブリッジ confirmed | 東京都千代田区丸の内二丁目3番2号 郵船ビルディング2F Japan: 株式会社コーブリッジ | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese, English | quote only |
| 18 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 20 all-time; 6 foreign makers) |
| Cosmic M.E. Co., Ltd. 株式会社コスミックエムイー probable | 埼玉県川口市 Japan: 株式会社コスミックエムイー | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese | quote only |
| not yet verified |
| Credevo probable | Singapore Japan: Not stated | not stated on the pages we checked | DrugsDevices DMAH role not fully clear | English | quote only |
| not yet verified |
| D-MAH Medical Japan Co., Ltd. ディーマー・メディカル・ジャパン株式会社 confirmed | 東京都中央区日本橋小伝馬町14-7 TB小伝馬町ビル7F Japan: ディーマー・メディカル・ジャパン株式会社 (parent: エクスパートナージャパン株式会社) | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese, English, Chinese, Korean | “弊社の製造販売業務の料金のシステムは、「ライセンス費」を月額固定費として頂いております。” source “1品目ごとに1セット(例:3品目の場合ライセンス費3セット) [search-snippet of old page]” source |
| 14 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 21 all-time; 9 foreign makers) |
| Freyr Solutions (Freyr Life Sciences K.K.) Freyr Life Sciences 株式会社 confirmed | USA (Princeton, NJ) / India (Hyderabad) Japan: Freyr Life Sciences 株式会社, 〒231-0006 神奈川県横浜市中区南仲通4-43 馬車道大津ビル (founded 2022, subsidiary of Freyr Inc., USA) | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 IVD 体外診断用医薬品製造販売業 Regenerative 再生医療等製品製造販売業 Drug 1st class 第一種医薬品製造販売業 Drug 2nd class 第二種医薬品製造販売業 | DevicesIVDSaMDRegenerativeDrugs Acts as DMAH itself | English, Japanese | quote only |
| not yet verified |
| GeoMedi Co., Ltd. 株式会社ジオメディ confirmed | 福岡県福岡市博多区吉塚1-38-28 ジオビル Japan: 株式会社ジオメディ | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese, English | quote only |
| 44 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 46 all-time; 17 foreign makers) |
| Global Regulatory Partners (GRP Japan) グローバルレギュラトリーパートナーズ合同会社 confirmed | USA (Boston area, MA) Japan: Global Regulatory Partners Japan (GRP-Japan), グローバルレギュラトリーパートナーズ合同会社, Tokyo | not stated on the pages we checked | DrugsDevicesCosmetics Acts as DMAH itself | English, Japanese | quote only |
| 0 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 2 all-time; 0 foreign makers) |
| ICST Corporation 株式会社ICST confirmed | 埼玉県さいたま市中央区上落合5-17-1 S4タワー2階 Japan: 株式会社ICST | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 IVD 体外診断用医薬品製造販売業 | DevicesIVD Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese, English | “申請代行費の他、月額固定で「維持管理費」を頂いております” source | 16 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 38 all-time; 5 foreign makers) | |
| Japan MDC LLC Japan MDC合同会社 confirmed | Japan (address not captured) Japan: Japan MDC 合同会社 | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese, English | quote only |
| 3 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 3 all-time; 1 foreign makers)
|
| JTP Co., Ltd. JTP株式会社 confirmed | Tokyo, Japan Japan: JTP株式会社 | not stated on the pages we checked | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese, English | quote only |
| 4 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 7 all-time; 3 foreign makers) |
| MBS Inc. 株式会社エムビーエス confirmed | 東京都千代田区外神田6-16-3 外神田MNビル3F Japan: 株式会社エムビーエス | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese, English | “D-MAHの維持料金は、今のところはこれくらいといった相場はないようです” source |
| 7 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 9 all-time; 3 foreign makers) |
| MCRA Japan / Vorpal Technologies (IQVIA MedTech) ヴォーパル・テクノロジーズ株式会社 confirmed | USA (IQVIA MedTech / MCRA); Japan operation: Vorpal Technologies K.K. Japan: ヴォーパル・テクノロジーズ株式会社 (Vorpal Technologies K.K.), Tokyo | not stated on the pages we checked | DevicesIVD Acts as DMAH itself | English, Japanese | quote only |
| 5 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 10 all-time; 2 foreign makers) |
| MDREX JAPAN MDREX JAPAN株式会社 confirmed | South Korea (Seoul) Japan: MDREX JAPAN Co., Ltd., Toranomon 2-chome Tower 19F, 2-3-17 Toranomon, Minato-ku, Tokyo | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 | DevicesSaMD Acts as DMAH itself | Korean, Japanese, English | quote only |
| not yet verified |
| Micren Healthcare Co., Ltd. マイクレン・ヘルスケア株式会社 confirmed | Tokyo, Japan Japan: マイクレン・ヘルスケア株式会社 | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese, English | quote only |
| 16 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 18 all-time; 11 foreign makers) |
| Pacific Bridge Medical パシフィックブリッジメディカル株式会社 confirmed | USA (Bethesda, MD area); offices in China, Japan, Singapore, Hong Kong Japan: パシフィックブリッジメディカル株式会社, Higashi-Shinbashi, Minato-ku, Tokyo (named as 選任製造販売業者 in Apple's Japanese ECG app IFU) | not stated on the pages we checked | DevicesIVDDrugs Acts as DMAH itself | English, Japanese | “The first involves a DMAH that charges a flat monthly rate for its services, which is usually around $5,000 to $10,000 per month, depending on the registration of the device. The second is a DMAH that charges a lower monthly rate (about $3,000), plus a percentage of sales in Japan.” source “a registration fee for product approval ... A monthly DMAH fee for holding your license and dealing with the PMDA as needed ... A warehouse fee to cover the cost of storing the company's products in a Japanese warehouse” source |
| 2 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 2 all-time; 2 foreign makers)
|
| Plusman LLC プラスマン合同会社 confirmed | 東京都中央区日本橋本町4-9-3 13階 Japan: プラスマン合同会社 | Device 2nd class 第二種医療機器製造販売業 | SaMDDevices Acts as DMAH itself | English, Japanese | quote only |
| not yet verified |
| Prime Fine Ltd. 有限会社プライムファイン probable | Tokyo, Japan Japan: 有限会社プライムファイン, Tokyo | not stated on the pages we checked | Devices DMAH role not fully clear | Japanese | quote only |
| 10 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 11 all-time; 6 foreign makers) |
| Pure Global probable | USA Japan: Not stated | not stated on the pages we checked | DevicesIVDSaMD DMAH role not fully clear | English | “Starting at $2,000 USD per year for the first device (excluding government fees).” source “a three-year contract ... one year contract, pay a 50% higher fee in the first year” source “Pricing varies by country, device class, and portfolio size, and excludes government fees. ... Use our Fee Calculator to get your instant estimate.” source |
| not yet verified |
| Qualtech Japan Consulting クアルテック・ジャパン・コンサルティング株式会社 probable | Taiwan (Taipei) — 理工科技顧問股份有限公司 Japan: クアルテック・ジャパン・コンサルティング株式会社, 〒550-0003 大阪府大阪市西区京町堀3丁目9-21 理工ビル | not stated on the pages we checked | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | English, Chinese, Japanese | quote only |
| not yet verified |
| Riken Genesis Co., Ltd. 株式会社理研ジェネシス confirmed | Tokyo, Japan Japan: 株式会社理研ジェネシス | IVD 体外診断用医薬品製造販売業 Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 | IVDDevices Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese, English | quote only |
| not yet verified |
| Sincere Co., Ltd. 株式会社シンシア confirmed | 東京都文京区 (TSE-listed contact lens maker) Japan: 株式会社シンシア | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese, English, Chinese | quote only |
| not yet verified |
| SMI LLC (Service for Medical Industry) SMI合同会社 confirmed | Nisshin, Aichi, Japan Japan: SMI合同会社, Nisshin, Aichi | Device 1st class 第一種医療機器製造販売業 | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | Japanese | quote only |
| 2 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 2 all-time; 2 foreign makers) |
| WSM Co., Ltd. 株式会社ダブリューエスエム confirmed | Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan Japan: 株式会社ダブリューエスエム, Kanazawa | not stated on the pages we checked | Devices Acts as DMAH itself | Korean, Japanese | quote only |
| 23 certified products held as selected MAH (active; 28 all-time; 12 foreign makers)
|
Missing a company, or is something wrong? Tell us with a public link and we will correct it. Company names belong to their owners. Inclusion is not an endorsement.
PMDA publishes one list of all certified devices and IVDs (認証品目リスト, 令和8年7月認証分まで(令和8年9月7日現在)) with a column for the selected MAH of foreign certificate holders. Of 26,951 certificates, 893 name a selected MAH (foreign designated maker route); 576 are still active, spread over 125 companies. Many are the maker’s own Japanese subsidiary or distributor; independent DMAH services are marked. Top 20 by active certificates:
| Selected MAH (as written by PMDA) | Active | All-time | Foreign makers (active) |
|---|---|---|---|
| AJMD株式会社 listed above | 45 | 57 | 26 |
| 株式会社ジオメディ listed above | 44 | 46 | 17 |
| デンツプライシロナ株式会社 | 27 | 45 | 6 |
| 株式会社ダブリューエスエム listed above | 23 | 28 | 12 |
| 株式会社OSSTEMJAPAN | 22 | 28 | 4 |
| リチャードウルフ株式会社 | 21 | 25 | 1 |
| 株式会社コーブリッジ listed above | 18 | 20 | 6 |
| アイ・エル・ジャパン株式会社 | 16 | 18 | 2 |
| 株式会社ICST listed above | 16 | 38 | 5 |
| マイクレン・ヘルスケア株式会社 listed above | 16 | 18 | 11 |
| 富士フイルムメディカル株式会社 | 12 | 14 | 3 |
| 株式会社アルス | 11 | 11 | 1 |
| 有限会社プライムファイン listed above | 10 | 11 | 6 |
| 株式会社ニッシン | 9 | 21 | 1 |
| ディーマー・メディカル・ジャパン株式会社 listed above | 9 | 9 | 5 |
| バイオジェネシス株式会社 | 8 | 10 | 3 |
| 有限会社日本サージ | 8 | 8 | 3 |
| 株式会社BMSJAPAN | 8 | 8 | 1 |
| ガデリウス・メディカル株式会社 | 7 | 9 | 3 |
| 株式会社RAYJAPAN | 7 | 9 | 1 |
Source: PMDA 認証品目リスト (https://www.pmda.go.jp/review-services/drug-reviews/about-reviews/devices/0026.html), PDL1.0; counted and edited by us. Active = no 認証整理日 and no 認証取消日. Approved (Class III/IV via PMDA review) products are not in this list.
In PMDA’s lists of approved new and improved medical devices from April 2025 to June 2026, 40 of 434 approvals were issued to a foreign applicant, i.e. under foreign special approval with a DMAH in Japan (our count from PMDA’s lists; approvals whose applicant is a company outside Japan). PMDA’s approval lists do not name the DMAH. Approval numbers of foreign special approvals carry the code BZI (e.g. 30800BZI00017000).
For approved products the DMAH is printed in the electronic package insert (field “選任製造販売業者”) and often in the maker’s press release or the reimbursement notice. We have not counted all approved products per DMAH; below are examples we verified from public sources.
| Approved | Product | Maker | DMAH | Type | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-06-23 | Signatera診断システム | Natera, Inc. | マイクレン・ヘルスケア株式会社 | Service provider | pmda.go.jp |
| 2025-06-19 | EITシステム Enlight 2100 | TIMPEL S.A. | マイクレン・ヘルスケア株式会社 | Service provider | medtronic.com |
| 2025-11-05 | Appleの高血圧パターンの通知プログラム | Apple Inc. | ヴォーパル・テクノロジーズ株式会社 | Service provider | itmedia.co.jp |
| 2025-07-29 | ClotTriever 血栓除去システム | Inari Medical, Inc. | ヴォーパル・テクノロジーズ株式会社 | Service provider | mhlw.go.jp |
| 2026-02-24 | エピフィックス (EpiFix) | MiMedx Group, Inc. | ディーマー・メディカル・ジャパン株式会社(旧EPJメディカルサービス株式会社) | Service provider | gunze.co.jp |
| 2025-08-21 | Tigertriever 血栓除去デバイス | Rapid Medical Ltd. | Japan MDC合同会社 | Service provider | ssk.or.jp |
| 2025-04-24 | ガイストリッヒ バイオオス コラーゲン | Geistlich Pharma AG | AJMD株式会社 | Service provider | spido-dental.com |
| 2026-02-24 | Alpha DaRT システム | Alpha Tau Medical Ltd. | ヘカバイオ株式会社 (HekaBio K.K.) | Service provider | bio.nikkeibp.co.jp |
| 2026-06-10 | ZAP-X ラジオサージェリーシステム | Zap Surgical Systems Inc | 株式会社千代田テクノル | Group company / distributor | c-technol.co.jp |
| 2026-03-09 | CUVIS-jointシステム | CUREXO, INC. | 京セラ株式会社 | Group company / distributor | kyocera.co.jp |
| 2025-09-10 | EluNIR 薬剤溶出ステント | Medinol Ltd. | ディーブイエックス株式会社 (DVx) | Group company / distributor | dvx.jp |
| 2026-01-20 | i900 オーラルスキャナ | Medit Corporation | 株式会社ダブリューエスエム | — | sundental.jp |
| 2025-08-26 | 植込み型補助人工心臓 HeartMate3 | Thoratec Corporation | アボットメディカルジャパン合同会社 | Group company / distributor | cardiovascular.abbott |
| 2025-11-12 | UroLift システム | NeoTract, Inc. | テレフレックスメディカルジャパン株式会社 | Group company / distributor | jp.urolift.com |
| 2026-06-03 | メドエル人工内耳SYNCHRONY2 FLEX | MED-EL Elektro-Medizinische Geräte GmbH | メドエルジャパン株式会社 | Group company / distributor | qx-files.yaozh.com |
Tell us your device class, product type (device, SaMD or IVD), target timing and language, and we will pass your request (with your consent) to two or three providers from this list that match. You compare quotes and decide.
Disclosure. We may receive a referral fee if you engage a provider introduced by us. Listing order is alphabetical and not paid.
Content under the Public Data License 1.0 (PDL1.0) is used under PDL1.0 (compatible with CC BY 4.0). This page edits, reorganizes and translates the original materials; the English text is an unofficial translation and the Japanese originals prevail. This site is independent and not affiliated with PMDA, MHLW or any company listed.
Last checked: .